About Arcade

“Architecture and design encompass the world of ideas, a place where we may think large, and hopefully, effect positive and powerful change in our daily lives.”

Kelly Rodriguez, ARCADE Executive Director, Editor

ARCADE is a Seattle-based nonprofit that creates opportunities — in print, in the community and online — for sharing ideas about design, culture and the built environment. We publish a magazine, host events and provide a curated calendar of Northwest design and art happenings. Aiming to strengthen connections between various creative groups and design disciplines, we invite all to participate and collectively add to the greater whole.

Founded in 1981 by a group of recent architecture-school graduates, ARCADE now includes a staff of three, a dedicated board of trustees, a cadre of generous and enthusiastic committee members and volunteers, and many talented creative contributors.

A labor of love, 70% of ARCADE’s budget is supported by donations made by our community of design enthusiasts.

Our Magazine

In our magazine, we bring together voices from multiple design disciplines – architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, industrial design, graphic design, etc. – and the arts community. Dedicated to providing a Northwest perspective, we present insights and review notable regional topics. We also work with contributors from around the world in an effort to better understand how the Northwest fits into a global dialogue.

Our current winter issue is ARCADE 34.3, which includes the feature "Undeniable: Edward Burtynsky's Photographs of a Changing World." Subscribe online here to receive the issue in print.

34-3 cover

Our Events

ARCADE also hosts and partners on design-related events in the Seattle area. From lectures to salons to our highly-anticipated magazine launch events, ARCADE strives to bring our community together to connect face-to-face through engaging, inspiring programming around design.

Our Mission

ARCADE’s mission is to reinforce the principle that thoughtful design at every scale of human endeavor improves our quality of life.

A 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, ARCADE fulfills its mission through its award-winning magazine; events, educational lectures, panel discussions, salons; and web presence, which includes its website, e-newsletter, online calendar of Northwest design events and growing social media community.



Kelly Rodriguez, Executive Director, Editor
Kelly is the longtime editor of ARCADE. In June 2011 she assumed the new role of executive director in addition to her editorial responsibilities. Kelly holds a bachelors and masters in architecture, which she pursued because she feels strongly that architecture and design encompass the world as we know it.

Erin Kendig, Managing Editor
Erin believes that thoughtful, compassionate and bold conversations can positively impact our world, and she finds ARCADE to be an extremely valuable platform for community dialogue. Erin has a background in graphic design and literature studies, and in addition to her work at ARCADE, she is also a fine artist. 

Jessica Quijada, Publishing & Marketing Coordinator
Jessica brings more than 10 years of marketing experience to ARCADE. She is motivated to contribute to her community and enjoys exploring the Northwest. Jessica appreciates design that promotes discussion and interaction.

Board of Trustees


Jason Bergevin, President
Bill Sleeth, Vice President
George Lampe, Treasurer
Ray Calabro, Secretary
Drew Giblin, Ex-Officio

Jill Hardy
Robert Harrahill
Kate Murphy
Ron Rochon
Thomas Schaer
Sarah Szabo

Editorial Committee

Brian Boram
Charles Mudede
Bill Sleeth
Margaret Sprug
Barbara Swift

Issue 34.3 Feature Editor

Erin Langner

Volume 34 Designer

Lucia | Marquand

Design Advisory Committee

Brian Boram
Karen Cheng
Thomas Eykemans

Issue 34.3 Editorial Assistance

Betsy Berger
Melissa Duffes
Michael Schuler

Website Credits

IF/THEN, design
Scott Thiessen, Varyable, development


Kelly Rodriguez
Executive Director, Editor
[email protected]
206 971 5596

Erin Kendig
Managing Editor
[email protected]
206 971 5591

Jessica Quijada
Publishing & Marketing Coordinator
[email protected]
206 971 5591


Want to get involved in ARCADE? Contact [email protected] with volunteer, interning and employment inquiries.

Online Communities

Join ARCADE on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and connect on Instagram.


1201 Alaskan Way, Pier 56, Suite 200
Seattle, WA, 98101

Our Donors

This list represents support as of the release of issue 34.3 (December 2016). Donate to ARCADE today to join this list and support dialogue on design.


Three-year sustaining commitment

City Builder
$10,000 +

Greg Bishop
Victoria Reed

$5,000 – $9,999

Miller Hull Partnership

$2,500 – $4,999

Krekow Jennings
LMN Architects

$1,000 – $2,499

Berger Partnership
Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
Perkins + Will
Swift Company LLC


Gifts received in the prior 12 months

$2,500 – $5,000

Raymond Calabro
Microsoft Matching Gifts
Olson Kundig
Starbucks Design

Plans Examiner
$1,000 – $2,499

Jason Bergevin / Holmquist & Gardiner
Bosworth Hoedemaker
Drew Giblin
Hoshide Wanzer Williams Architects / Paul Wanzer
MCE Structural Consultants / Monte Clark
MCM Insurance Services
John Parman
PCS Structural Solutions
Premier Store Fixtures
Ron Rochon
Seattle Office of Arts & Culture
Albert Shum
Bill Sleeth
SRG Partnership
Swenson Say Fagét
Karon Weber
Wyman Youth Trust / Deehan Wyman

Stud Club
$500 – $999

Bassetti Architects
Best Practice Architecture
Cathy & Michael Casteel
Coughlin Porter Lundeen
Marc Gleason
GLY Construction
Jill Hardy
George Lampe
Kate Murphy
Drew Ness
Ben & Margit Rankin
Nussbaum Group / Dale Nussbaum
SHED Architecture & Design
SHKS Architects
SkB Architects
Suyama Peterson Deguchi
Weinstein A+U

$250 – $499

Ainslie-Davis Construction
Allworth Design
Ambrose Construction / Brad Wageman
William Bain
Karen Cheng
Conard Romano Architects
dBoone construction llc
Design Commission / David Conrad
Samantha Durst
Form4 Architecture / John Marx
Bert Gregory
Robert Harrahill
Heliotrope Architecture
Tradecraft Builders / Trent Jackson
Steven Kendig
Karen Kiest Landscape Architects
Jacqueline Kotkins
Donald Lange
Lawrence Architecture
Miovic Reinhardt Associates / Dejan Miovic
PAE / Allan Montpellier
Kirsten Murray
NAC Architecture
Northstar Woodworks / Craig Timmer
Heidi Oien & Daniel Goddard
Ana Pinto da Silva
Queen Anne Electric LLC
Schacht | Aslani Architects
Thomas Schaer
Schemata Workshop
SMR Architects
Sundberg Kennedy Ly-Au Young Architects / Rick Sundberg
Vandeventer + Carlander Architects
Williams | Partners Architects / Jeffrey Williams
Andrew Wong

$100 – $249

Brian Abramson
Lawrence Asher
Eddie Baba
David Bennett
Patrick Berkley & Deirdre Doyle
Brian Boram
Elizabeth Brown
Bruce Hale Design
Harry & Janet Butcher
Patricia Calabro
Chadbourne + Doss
Culvahouse Consulting
Nora Daley-Peng
David Coleman / Architecture
Linda Derschang
Jim & Gaylee Duncan
Dunsmuir Institute Architects / Scott Wolf
Christopher Economakos
Spicer Freeman
Thomas Frye, Jr.
Fukui Architecture
Jon Gerster
Bruce Hale
Helen Harris
HCMA Architecture + Design / Darryl Condon
Scot Hearl
Andrew Heckle
John Hunt
HyBrid Architecture
Carolyn Jones
Allison E. Laurel
Tina Lindinger
Michael & Diana Lyons
Carl Markley
Patreese Martin
Melanie Matthews
Erich Mele
Holly Merrill
Scott Mitchem
Mohler + Ghillino Architects / Richard Ghillino
Carolyn Murphy
Patricia Emmons Architecture & Fine Art
Andrew Phillips
Scott Redman
James Richardson & James Brown
Derek Ruddy
S+H Works / Hugh Schaeffer
Norie Sato
Tommy Semper
Scott Shapiro
Steve Skonieczny Furniture Maker
Eric Snyder
Margaret Sprug
Suehiro Architecture / James Suehiro
Betty Swift
Hally Swift
Jay Taylor
Cathie Toshach
Touchstone / Joseph Polito
Tyler Engle Architects
Ron & Kerry van der Veen
VSM Copper
Walker Architecture / Gordon K. Walker
Shirley & Scott Wilson
Hui-Yong Yu