Saturday 1st Apr 2017
5:30 – 10pm
at 415 Westlake
415 Westlake, Seattle WA 98109
Put on by University of Washington Department of Architecture
More Info

The Department of Architecture at the University of Washington is pleased to announce the results of its inaugural alumni awards program for the spring of 2017. This bi-annual event will recognize the significant contribution made by alumni of their program in two distinct categories. The Distinguished Alumni Award honors an alumna or alumnus whose career achievements in the profession of architecture and the broader community have made a significant contribution to the built environment of the Puget Sound region and beyond. The recipients of this award are individuals who have had a distinguished career as evidenced in the excellence of their built work, the significance of their impact on the community, and the generosity of their commitment to the education of architects. The Graduate of the Last Decade (GOLD) Award recognizes the accomplishments of an alumna or alumnus of the UW Department of Architecture within ten years of their graduation. The recipients of this award show great promise for expanding the impact of the profession of architecture through creative forms of practice and civic engagement.

This year’s recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Award are Lee Copeland, Consulting Principal of Mithun Inc. in Seattle and Steven Holl of Steven Holl Architects in New York. This year’s recipients of the GOLD Award are Scott Crawford of LMN Architects in Seattle, Mariam Kamara of atelier masomi in Niamey, Niger, and Suk Lee of Steven Holl Architects in New York. The awardees were selected by the following jury: Donald King, FAIA, Visiting Professor, UW Department of Architecture; Anne Schopf, FAIA, Partner, Mahlum Architects; and Boris Srdar, FAIA, Principal, NAC Architecture.

Please join the Department of Architecture in celebrating these awardees at their Alumni Awards Event at the 415 Westlake Event Space in the South Lake Union neighborhood of Seattle.

Ticket purchase deadline is March 24, 2017. Questions? Contact Nancy Dragun, [email protected] or 206-897-1872.

-via University of Washington Department of Architecture