From ARCADE Issue 34.1. Subscribe to receive ARCADE in print.

Information graphics and data visualizations are everywhere. In ARCADE issue 31.4, we've presented a few we've found to be particularly compelling. We've also searched the web to uncover the best blogs, practitioners, projects and resources to inspire you and further your discovery of this emerging field. Enjoy!

Information Designers

Alberto Cairo – thefunctionalart.com
Nicholas Felton – feltron.com
Francesco Franchi – francescofranchi.com
Ben Fry – benfry.com
Jessica Hagy – thisisindexed.com
Jonathan Harris – number27.org
Nigel Holmes – nigelholmes.com
Robert Kosara – eagereyes.org
Martin Krzywinski – mkweb.bcgsc.ca
David McCandless – informationisbeautiful.net
Christopher Niemann – christopherniemann.com
Stefanie Posavec – itsbeenreal.co.uk
Nicolas Rapp – nicolasrapp.com
Edward Tufte – edwardtufte.com
Bang Wong – bang.clearscience.info
Richard Wurman – wurman.com
Nathan Yau – flowingdata.com

Information Design Consultancies

Catalog Tree – catalogtree.net
Column Five – columnfivemedia.com
Density Design – densitydesign.org
Dubberly Design Office – dubberly.com
Fathom – fathom.info
Hyperakt – hyperakt.com
Periscopic – periscopic.com
Pitch Interactive – pitchinteractive.com
Schema Design – schemadesign.com
Stamen Design – stamen.com
Tactical Technology Collective – tacticaltech.org

Infographic Charts/Posters

History Shots – historyshots.com
Pop Chart Lab – popchartlab.com
Timeplots – timeplots.com

Information Design Blogs

Chartsnthings (Blog of The New York Times Graphics Dept.) – chartsnthings.tumblr.com
Chartporn – chartporn.org
Data Visualization – datavisualization.ch
Facebook Data Science – facebook.com/data
Info Design – informationdesign.org
Information Aesthetics – infosthetics.com
Sankey Diagrams – sankey-diagrams.com
Swiss-infographics – swissinfographics.com
Visual Complexity – visualcomplexity.com
Visual Loop – visualoop.com
Visualizing – visualizing.org

Information Design Tools

Gapminder – gapminder.org
Google Charts – developers.google.com/chart
Many Eyes – www-958.ibm.com
Processing – processing.org
Wordle – wordle.net

Information Design Organizations

International Institute for Information Design – iiid.net
The Information Design Association – informationdesignassociation.org.uk
Society for News Design – snd.org

Publications with Infographic Features

Data Art with BBC backstage – data-art.net
Fast Company – fastcompany.com/infographics
GOOD – good.is/infographics
The Guardian Data Store – guardian.co.uk/data
The New York Timessmallmeans.com/new-york-times-infographics
The New York Times Innovation Portfolio – nytinnovation.com
Visualizing Data – A Harvard Business Review Insight Center – hbr.org/special-collections/insight/visualizing-data

Information Design Videos

“The Best Stats You’ve Ever Seen” Hans Rosling TED Talk
“The Beauty of Data Visualization” David McCandless TED Talk
“Journalism in the Age of Data” from Stanford University
“The Art of Data Visualization” from PBS
"All the News That's Fit to Post" The New York Times

More Online Information Design Projects

GE Data Visualization - visualization.geblogs.com
Growth of Walmart- projects.flowingdata.com/walmart
Information Design Patterns - infodesignpatterns.com
Newsmap - newsmap.jp
San Francisco Crimespotting - sanfrancisco.crimespotting.org
Sense of Patterns - casualdata.com/senseofpatterns
Slavery Footprint - slaveryfootprint.org
The Virtual Water Project - virtualwater.eu
We Feel Fine - wefeelfine.org